At Some Point…You Will Be Body Slammed

Sometimes I think that when I was born, the universe looked at me, laughed, and said “look at her, she’s done nothing wrong…but we’re still going to give her a hard time.”.

Some people would change that, some people would make the universe eat its words. I have a friend who roundhouse kicks the universe, I have a mother who crushes whatever is thrown at her with a single thought.

I am not Kathryn or my mother.I am me. I’m irrational, quick to defend people and slow to defend myself, I see the good in people I want to see the good in; even if there is no good to be seen, alone: I’m fragile and crushable, in public: I’m a firecracker, I pretend to have confidence but I doubt myself everyday, and right now it feels like when I came out of my mother 17 years and 11 months ago I was doomed…

But half way through writing that long and revealing description of Harriet, something hit me on my little noggin. It wasn’t life punching me in the face, it was two little phrases:

“Everything happens for a reason. You will survive this.”

I’m not Anne Frank, Malala Yousafzai or even Mpheto Bidli. I am not running from a creepy, short dictator with an inferiority complex, I have never, nor will ever, provoke the Taliban by speaking out about my beliefs and I haven’t been struck by lightning.

In retrospect, my life is pretty okay.

I may see the good in people too much, I may be incredibly crushable, I may even doubt myself at times, but as my very wise art teacher once said:

“Shit happens.”

Thank you Mrs Smit, you’re a visionary, shit really does happen, and the only way to deal with such a predicament is to take that shit and drop kick it into a nearby field or, alternatively, stick that shit right back where it came from because you…yes you, the one who over thinks and feels alone and can’t find the light at the top of this pitch black, unnecessary hole that life has dug for you, YOU. WILL. SURVIVE. THIS.

I don’t have a PHD in fortune telling, I’m no clairvoyant, I haven’t even lived 2 decades yet and right now I’m just a kid who’s sick of reality not meeting my expectations, but I’ve gone through enough bad days and unhappy endings to know that everyone, even you in the deepest shadowy abyss, can pull yourself out.

Because there’s nothing more powerful than the human spirit, and there’s more than enough to go around.

Yet, despite the dull pain in my chest, the intensity of my frustration and my lack of a shovel, my spirit has not been crushed yet. Don’t let yours.

4 Comments

Filed under Average Advice

4 responses to “At Some Point…You Will Be Body Slammed

  1. Karin Petersen

    Go get the world Harriet – you are ahead in the race. Lovely writing.

  2. Jacci Babich

    Powerful stuff Harriet you write really, really well. May I suggest my remedy for when shit happens? Find a stick, scrape it off, and walk on. Any remaining bits just get trodden into the dust.

Leave a Reply

