Is it weird that in 18 years on this planet I’ve never seen something die? I find it weird. Like it’s such a common, everyday occurrence that I’ve been ignoring for years now. I didn’t even see my gold fish die.

It’s like I’ve been enjoying the luxuries of youth with no thought to the consequences of living, or not living.

My first death that I witnessed was approximately 23 minutes ago and it was a dog named Paddington. He was anemic and had an allergic reaction to the blood the vets were trying to give him. It was a bit like the time my friend Megan fainted after giving blood except she woke up after scaring the crap out of me.

So I guess death is an inevitability, even for Airedales like Paddington.And maybe I should stop acting like I’m going to live forever.

Maybe I should keep this in the back of my young, inexperienced, mortal mind:

“Remembering you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose.”

Happy New Year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brain Poetry

Leave a Reply

