Don’t be Yoko: My Adventures With The Rock Band JackValve

joeastevo Everyone needs to have a rock ‘n roll phase. You can be certain your parents had one, yes, those lovely law-abiding, picket fenced, blue-jean, summer day folk you call “Mom and Dad” ,those guys were hardcore once upon a time. Gramps also rocked the sock hops in his day. It’s impossible not to have a rock ‘n roll phase, it doesn’t matter how long it ends, it could be a 2 hour gig-frenzy or a lifetime of headbanging- it’s just got to happen, the cycle of life depends on it.

My rock ‘n roll phase started rather abruptly, with half-price cocktails on a Monday and the commitment to introduce myself to our music-exhaling neighbours if I got home with enough Dutch Courage to spare. 10:30 pm and I’m yelling at the top of my lungs, trying to get the mysterious and edgy rock stars to come outside and let my roommates and I in. They obliged, and showed just how hardcore they are by promptly making us tea.

2 sugars and milk…how very Axl Rose.

Thus acquaintance was made with “JackValve”. A bunch of tea-drinking, video-game junkies who just so happen to know a lot about their craft as musicians. I’ve been sucked into my rock ‘n roll phase with the sudden appearance of gig invitations on my Facebook events and the sounds of Monday and Wednesday band practice making their way onto my front porch. The fact that I’m dating the lead singer means I get acoustic concerts in my bedroom and,upon occasion, get threatened to be attacked with drumsticks if I “become Yoko”.

Playing Blink-182 is also taboo in the JackValve house.

IMG-20140602-WA003

Their latest single “Baby Blue” is apparently a tribute to me. I am skeptical as it was written and recorded months before my existence was even known, but the sentiment is sweet. Every groupie wants to pretend a song is about them, I get the privilege of bragging about this one:

I might even say I find it better than Blink-182…but don’t tell them that.

Go like their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/JackValve and start your rock ‘n roll phase.

Do it for humanity!

IMG-20140602-WA004

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures, Rocking Tunage

Leave a Reply

