I miss you in fistfuls

I miss you in the quiet hours. When the day has yet to rear its head. When everything is blank and still and lonely. I miss you when I drive home at night; the sky is open, your heart is closed. It has always been so.

I miss you when I fall asleep. It’s an angry kind of missing, a drunken, violent, spitting kind of missing. I miss you in fistfuls. I miss you in gasps. I miss you in moments.

I miss who I thought you could be. Not the person you are. My idea of you never existed, he lived in the beams of sunlight peaking through my blinds and in between the pages of my journals. He flitted out of sight. I wish I could trap him in a jar and keep him close; the fantasy you fed me. The you I wanted to see. Never the one that existed. Never the one in front of me.

I do not miss your shattered soul. I never want to see it again.

1 Comment

Filed under Brain Poetry

One response to “I miss you in fistfuls

  1. Allie

    This is so beautiful!

Leave a comment